Tags

, ,

What a roller-coaster ride my Kickstarter Book Project, http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/657505113/this-part-of-the-sky, has been – thrilling and nerve-racking at the same time.  I found out about Kickstarter while reading an alumni magazine.  I immediately investigated it, put together a project proposal and was soon after approved to launch it.  My project’s “backers” are individuals, and groups of family members, friends and co-workers who pooled their funds. So far, the pledge levels range from $5 to $600.  In the first week, I was excited to constantly receive emails about a new backer, messages from viewers about the cool rewards and even the countdown from Kickstarter about the time remaining to meet the project goal.  However, after the first week, things were at a standstill; then, there were little increase here and there; and, huge increases overnight; now, back to a standstill again.  I stopped looking at my email today because I couldn’t handle knowing how close or far I am from the goal.

So all-consuming has been the process that I added a chapter to the book about the power of community.  I continue to be taken aback by how everyday individuals can come together to do extraordinary things. It is how my husband and I funded the Liberia project, http://www.liberiaproject.com. My journal reflections about the experience building a church and school in Zorzor, Liberia is the subject of the book. Back then, I was stunned by how much we raised.  Now, I continue to be amazed by the support of family, friends, colleagues and a few random strangers to get the book about that experience published. I am extremely grateful for their involvement and support.

With just a couple of days left, I’m not sure what will happen in that time. I’m so close to the goal, I can see it.  However, I’m not quite there.  So, last night, I resigned myself to sitting back and waiting for the email from Kickstarter, which will soon read: “Your project _____.” I have been afraid to admit that it may say, “failed.” Actually, I’ve continued to say, “Failure is not an option.” However, the fact is, our plans do fail sometimes. Though, disappointing, that doesn’t have to leave us without hope. Failure is something to learn from, and, can certainly make us even more determined to accomplish a goal.

Nonetheless, I’m not ready to give in just yet. And so, I’ve changed my mind – I can’t possibly just sit back and wait to see what happens in the next couple days. I’m going to continue to send emails, make phone calls and talk to people about this project right to the very end. I’m sure it will make a difference: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/657505113/this-part-of-the-sky.

If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do, by all means keep moving forward.” Martin Luther King Jr.

Life Works Lesson #7: Take the time to invest in and develop a community; there is a great deal of power therein.

Be well, WMT

